Skip Navigation
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina Show Links

Autism Division 


DDSN serves individuals with Intellectual Disabilities, Autism Spectrum Disorder, Traumatic Brain Injury and Spinal Cord Injury, and conditions related to each of these four disabilities. DDSN is the State agency that plans, develops, coordinates, and funds services for South Carolinians with severe, lifelong disabilities.

Autism Spectrum Disorder is defined as an abnormal or impaired development of the brain that affects social interaction and communication, as well as markedly restricted, repetitive and stereotyped patterns of behaviors, interests and activities in early childhood development. Autism Spectrum Disorder is a neurobiological disorder which affects the way information is perceived and processed and results in impairments that alter an individual’s ability to learn and think and respond to their environment in the same way as “age equivalent” peers.

The Autism Division is the branch of DDSN that handles issues regarding individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder and the people who assist them on a regular basis. The three main service areas of the Autism Division are Evaluation, Consultation, and Training. The Autism Division has offices located in Charleston, Columbia, Florence, and Spartanburg.

Service Areas

Eligibility and Evaluation



Helpful Links

Autism Division Offices